Gamespot: The Story of Overwatch

“It Is A Redemption Story”

It’s been a long time since I have felt a huge need or desire to play/be apart of a game. The last game that I looked forward to was the release of “Skyrim” and “Assassin’s Creed Revelations.” Now as great as Skyrim was and is, Revelations let me down. The story and characters that I grew to know and love suddenly were changing. Plot holes were rampant and the overall story of the game was changed. It wasn’t the same and hasn’t been the same. The franchise that I spent hours of my time in running around in had a different unfamiliar feel. Since that year I have yet to hype a game. This is probably why when a new games is announced I am never too excited.

This is where Overwatch comes into play. Overwatch has been in development since probably before 2014 and for whatever reason I couldn’t tell you. I can’t stop looking forward to this game. A team based shooter made by probably one of my favorite game developers of all time. A company that sent me a trial version of World of Warcraft when I was 11. There is something about this game that has me reminiscing about the PC games of old. And when Gamespot started their mini documentary series of Overwatch I realized why I’am so excited. It’s because it is a game of old. Just honed and sharpened for the present.

But seriously though, it’s a blizzard game and a competitive game at that. So that means we all need to be prepared for gaming elitist and “gg-ers.”

When the first video was released (Thursday 21) I was super excited to see some behind the scenes development of the game but what we got was something much more rewarding. Blizzard opened up to us. They let us in and see their raw core game developers have but hide by constantly releasing half decent, mostly unfinished games every year. They showed us who they are and what they are trying to build in this video series.

If you haven’t seen them I implore you to do so. Watch them. Take the time and look at each of them. Study how they feel about this project but especially Jeff Kaplan and Chirs Metzen. Look at the passion and defeat that is in their eyes. They are hopeful this game will bring them a whole new reputation and not the reputation that Blizzard takes other peoples ideas and just makes them their own and better. (Several people have made this comment to me I don’t believe it but understand it) No, this game is going to trail blaze a new reputation with us gamers and I look forward to it.

It’s going to be the shooter we didn’t even know we needed. The Beta has proved that already.

 

Part 1: The Fall of Titan

Part 2: Return of the 90’s Shooter

Part 3: 21 Hero Salute

And a huge shout out and thank you to @Dannyodwyer and the Gamespot crew for doing such a good job at capturing all of the greatness that Blizzard had to offer over this three part series.

Leave a Reply

