Portal Knights – Whimsy and Exciting

Portal Knights is not something that I would usually play. It’s not the fantasy aspect or the toony graphics that would keep me from trying a game like it. No, matter of fact those things are what have brought me to this game. The simplicity is what caught my attention but the complexity that makes this game is what’s keeping me up at night. I can’t help but think to myself when, where, and how am I going to make my next fort and with what materials.

Portal Knights, in my mind is what Minecraft is about. That is if I ever took the time out to play Minecraft. I feel like that game would’ve given me a headache. But in this game there is no lack of needing to grind and farm away in order to make new craftables, materials, and weapons. And with the time that I have put in to Dark Souls 3, where its a constant ass-whoopin’. This game is a great change of pace.

The fact that I can mine deep into the ground while leaving a trail of torches is relaxing. I don’t know why. Maybe because I can do what I want at my own pace. I can dungeon dive, treasure hunt, slay goblins, or farm. Literally. Sure if my friends were on PC I could co op with them. But solo is cool too. Whatever has got me entwined in this game won’t have me leaving anytime soon and because it’s in early access there is so much more to come.

Seriously though, I’m having way too much fun with this game!

Check out Portal Knights on Steam.

Leave a Reply

